Research Grant Recipients

Research is vital to our goals of better understanding OCD and related disorders, and improving treatment. To help achieve these goals, the IOCDF awards research grants to promising studies thanks to generous donors from within the OCD community.

Since 1994, the IOCDF has awarded $8 million in research grants, and continues to offer research grant awards annually. The Michael Jenike Young Investigator Awards, which help build OCD research programs and keep junior researchers interested in studying the field of OCD and related disorders, are offered every year. The Breakthrough and Innovator Awards, which fund the work of senior researchers as they pursue large-scale projects that help us better understand and treat OCD, are offered in alternating years.

What can an IOCDF Research Grant Award help us learn about OCD and related disorders?

Jonathan S. Abramowitz, PhD, ABPP, discusses his IOCDF grant-funded research into couple-based cognitive behavioral therapy for people with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD).

2021 Research Grant Awardees

We are excited to announce the 2020 IOCDF Research Grant awardees! This year, we awarded over $800,000 in funding to researchers pursuing exciting and impactful projects on a range of topics in OCD and related disorders. To read more about their projects, click "2021 IOCDF Research Grant Award Winners" below!

Previous IOCDF Research Grant Recipients

The generosity of our donors has made it possible for us to provide sustained support for OCD and related disorders research for the past 26 years. Over 100 projects have been funded on a wide range of important topics. You can learn more about the research that the IOCDF funds by reading the project summaries below.

 Research funded by the IOCDF:

Thank you to our 2021 Grant Review Committee:

Christopher Pittenger, MD, PhD - Yale University (Chair)
Jennifer Freeman, PhD - Butler Hospital/Brown University (Vice Chair)

Amitai Abramovitch, PhD - Texas State University
Jonathan Abramowitz, PhD - University of North Carolina
Thomas Adams, PhD - University of Kentucky
Dritan Agalliu, PhD - Columbia University
Susanne Ahmari, MD, PhD - University of Pittsburgh
Paul Arnold, MD, PhD - University of Calgary
Catherine Ayers, PhD - University of California San Diego
Kristen Benito, PhD - Brown University/Butler Hospital
Cristiana Bratiotis, PhD - University of British Columbia
Ulrike Buhlmann, PhD - University of Münster
Matthew Carper, PhD - Brown University
Gregory Chasson, PhD - Illisnois Institute of Technology
Terence Ching, PhD - Yale University
Christine Conelea, PhD - University of Minnesota
Kelly Cosgrove, PhD - Yale University
Lisa Coyne, PhD - McLean Hospital/Harvard University
Michael Daines, MD - University of Arizona
Irina Esterlis, PhD - Yale University
Martha Falkenstein, PhD - McLean Hospital/Harvard University
Lara Farrell, PhD - Griffith University
Thomas Fernandez, MD - Yale University
Lorena Fernández de la Cruz, PhD - Karolinska Institutet
Jamie Feusner, MD - University of California Los Angeles
Kate Fitzgerald, MD - University of Michigan
Christopher Flessner, PhD - Kent State
Hannah Frank, PhD - Brown University
Martin Franklin, PhD - Rogers Behavioral Health
Sarah Garnaat, PhD - Brown University
Daniel Geller, MD - Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Wayne Goodman, MD - Baylor College of Medicine
Marco Grados, MD, MPH - Johns Hopkins University
Jon Grant, JD, MD, MPH - University of Chicago
Patricia Gruner, PhD - Yale University
Elana Harris, MD, PhD - Cincinnati Children's Hospital/University of Cincinnati
Mady Hornig, MA, MD - Columbia University
Nicholas Jacobson, MS - Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard University
Ryan Jacoby, PhD - Harvard University/Massachusetts General Hospital
Joshua Kemp, PhD - Brown University/Butler Hospital
Lorrin Koran, MD - Stanford University
Gerd Kvale, PhD - University of Bergen
A. Moses Lee, MD - University of California San Francisco
Adam Lewin, PhD - University of South Florida
Gayle Maloney, PhD - Yale University
Charles Mansuetto, PhD - Behavior Therapy Center of Greater Washington
Brittany Mason, PhD - UT Southwestern
David Mataix-Cols, PhD - Karolinska Institutet
Jeffrey Meyer, MD, PhD - Centre for Addiction and Mental Health/University of Toronto
Jeffrey Miller, MD - Columbia University
Pablo Moya, PhD - Universidad de Valparaíso
Jordana Muroff, PhD - Boston University
Naveen Nagarajan, PhD - University of Utah
Melissa Norberg, PhD - Macquarie University
Noah Palm, PhD - Yale University
Michele Pato, MD - State University of New York
Tara Peris, PhD - University of California Los Angeles
John Piacentini, PhD - University of California Los Angeles
Helen Pushkarskaya, PhD - Yale University
Carolyn Rodriguez, MD, PhD - Stanford University
Maria Rosario, MD - Universidade Federal de São Paulo
H. Blair Simpson, MD - Columbia University
Gail Steketee, PhD - Boston University
Emily Stern, PhD - New York University/Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene
S. Evelyn Stewart, MD - British Columbia Children's Hospital/University of British Columbia
Eric Storch, PhD - Baylor College of Medicine
Margo Thienemann, MD - Stanford University
Kiara Timpano, PhD - University of Miami
David Tolin, PhD - The Insitute of Living/Yale University
Peter Tuerk, PhD - University of Virginia
Michael Twohig, PhD - Utah State University
Matilde Vaghi, PhD - Stanford University
Gerrit van Schalkwyk, MBChB - University of Utah
Biju Viswanath, MD, PhD - National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences
Valerie Voon. MD, PhD - University of Cambridge
Hilary Weingarden, PhD - Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard University
Chad Wetterneck, PhD - University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
Michael Wheaton, PhD - Barnard College
Alik Widge, MD, PhD - University of Minnesota
Kyle Williams, MD, PhD - Harvard University
Bethany Wootton, PhD - University of Technology Sydney
Brian Zaboski, PhD - Yale University